In Honor Of Gay Pride Month…

…seeing that it’s June 30th, the last day of the all the hoo-hah, I thought I’d post this video of liturgical dance at the 2013 Easter Vigil at the Berkley Newman Center.

 

 

 

 

What?  I mean, it’s Berkley, right?

ht Fr Z

About thelarryd

LarryD resides in Michigan with his wife and 2 sons. He's been blogging on Catholic topics since March 2008, providing orthodox commentary on heterodox hooliganism, with observations on the culture, trends, and the Church. His goal? Inject humor and fun into the New Evangelization, with the gentle reminder that everyone's taking themselves way too seriously.
This entry was posted in Catholycs, Ick Blech Ack, Liturgical Abuses So Bad They Make Your Head Melt, Snark, Unbefreakinlievable, What the....?. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to In Honor Of Gay Pride Month…

  1. Scott W. says:

    As I mentioned at the youtube combox, I don’t like Aaron Copeland and even I don’t thinks he deserves such treatment.

    Like

  2. Janet Baker says:

    Why do these “dancers” think it’s just the coolest thing to prance around in bare feet and flail their arms about with those wispy sash-thingies? And the way that incense was being twirled about, I hope they had their fire insurance premiums paid!

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Jeff M. They forgot to release the flutterbies, I mean butterflies!

    Like

  4. jeanpergande says:

    I thought I was watching Cirque du Solei.

    Like

  5. Tunces says:

    I had to watch it again just to see the big guy floating in with the altar cloth. He’s big, but he’s light on his feet.

    Like

  6. leilaatlittlecatholicbubble says:

    I cannot bring myself to click the arrow.

    Like

  7. Robert says:

    How appropriate for a liturgical dance…..music written by a homosexual, agnostic communist.

    Like

  8. Fr Erik J Richtsteig says:

    Yup, that’s pretty gay.

    Like

  9. wmeyer says:

    Reprehensible. But it’s the consequence of 45+ years of little to no catechesis, and bishops MIA.

    Like

  10. Tunces says:

    Today I wish I hadn’t posted that comment about the dancers falling to their death – it was not at all serious, especially considering what happened to the performer at Cirque. I apologize. I did not even consider that readers would take it seriously, assuming all would recognize the original comment was made in jest.

    However, the video is LOL funny and I can’t imagine anyone sitting through that. What is shown is a ‘performance of a ‘Mass’ – in my opinion, it is not liturgical. It inspires levity and not devotion – hence the wise cracks – for which I apologize.

    Like

  11. Newsflash! Would someone kindly remind them that the 70’s were over 40 years ago? I would like to know how this all got started and let us put this to end! Very soon!

    Like

  12. doughboy says:

    trainwreck – no survivors.

    Like

  13. Dave says:

    The candles are to be on opposite sides of the altar signifying the narrow way, through Christs’ sacrifice, to heaven. That’s all I can find wrong. (Duh!)

    Like

  14. So let me get this straight. June is Pride Month. November is Gluttony Month, right? And that means June, when kids get out of school and sleep all day, doubles as Sloth Month?

    Like

  15. If this is the Newman Center at the University of California (my alma mater), then it’s spelled, BERKELEY. And, hey, I’m a devout Anglo-Catholic, and this, to me isn’t so much homosexual as pagan.

    Like

  16. indy says:

    How did they find time for all that – usually the Easter Vigil is already long enough with all the stuff that’s supposed to be there!

    Like

Post a comment. It's free!

