Return To The Valley Of The Blogs

I’m back.

After an 8 month sabloggital – plus or minus the odd post or three – I’m entering the Valley of the Blogs again. Which proves beyond a doubt that I’m nuts.

Yes, AoftheA is active again, but with several tweaks (I did say that if I return, that might be some changes in store for the blog. Don’t act so surprised.).

One: posting twice a week, at most.

Two: no more fisking National Catholic Reporter articles. Takes too much time, and really, all their stuff is just crap anyway. Not worth my time reading, or yours either. Plus it’s unfair taking advantage of the impaired.

Three: no videos or stories about liturgical abuses or Puppet masses or women’s fauxrdination. It’s all been done before. Besides, enough other Catholic blogs report on such stories to the point where I choose not to add to people’s angst, or generate outrage for the sake of generating outrage. We all know abuses happen, and unless they’re happening in my archdiocese…no, strike that. Unless they’re happening in my parish, I don’t have time to care. I choose not to pick up those crosses. Other folks might, but not me.

And speaking of angst…

Four:  no posts on stuff said by Pope Francis (or as I described to a friend, Pope Frangstcis) that other bloggers find questionable, or confusing, or approaching the asymptote of heresy, or what have you. Again, these other bloggers are enjoying great success at penning such posts and generating hit after hit after hit. But more than that, in my opinion that no one cares about, those posts are not constructive, and serve to spread distrust.

Listen, I get it that the Holy Father has a different way of speaking than previous popes. His methods are unorthodox, to say the least. He calls people on the phone. He says a lot of off-the-cuff remarks. I’ve been reading them, but I keep my opinion to myself (which is a pretty good piece of advice, I might add). I also get that reporters need to report, writers need to write, and bloggers need to blog. All of that makes sense to me.

But…

I have found that discussing one’s concerns privately, maybe with a spiritual director, or a confidant, or a counselor, tends to be just as cathartic as publishing something that traverses the globe in a manner of seconds. Even more cathartic, actually. Sure, one doesn’t always get the validation you can get in a combox, but so what? Better to let people think you’re a Debbie Downer, than provide incontrovertible evidence. Just talking about my own experience here, and giving my unsolicited opinion. It’s important to get crap off our chests, no doubt about it. I think it’s equally important, though – as well as responsible – to keep one’s crap private and not fan flames, or give fellow Catholics more reasons to doubt, or fall into some state of despair, or give the Crazies out there fodder to accuse Pope Francis of being an anti-pope, or…well, you get the idea, I’m sure.

Because our opinions can be wrong. Or we can be short of all the facts, or misinterpret stuff. We’re human, we make mistakes, and we probably get more shit wrong than we get right.

If you’re looking for consternation and concern regarding Pope Francis here at AoftheA, sorry. You won’t find any. I’m not going to feed into people’s proclivities towards outrage and suspicion. Same goes for “he said, he said” stories regarding Cardinals. As well as bishops shutting down someone’s blog. Or the upcoming Synod on the Family (except to say: it’s 5 months from now, and the stuff I’ve been reading is not only a lot of ‘putting the cart before the horse’, but that the tree from which the lumber will be produced to make the cart hasn’t been cut down yet, and the mare is still pregnant with the foal). You want commentary on that stuff, I think you all know the places where you can read about ‘em.

Okay – so if none of that stuff, then what?

Humor, and personal reflections on the faith. Maybe I’m missing something, but where have the humor blogs gone? Who’s funny anymore? Used to be there were more than quite a few, but now? Maybe there are new ones I’m unaware of. Don’t know. Curt Jester doesn’t blog as much anymore. Ironic Catholic has blogged less as of late – mostly because she’s a prof and author (congrats on the new book, IC, in case you’re reading!) and mother. There’s Eye of the Tiber – but who else? Anyone know?

Regardless – we all could use more humor, and smiles, and laughter in the Catholic Blogosphere. So I’ve returned to the Valley of the Blogs, and will write stuff that will at least make me laugh.

Because I still believe.

 

p.s. – I forgot to mention that Terry Nelson at Abbey Roads is a funny blogger, and makes me laugh.

p.p.s. – He paid me to say that.

p.p.p.s. – Actually, he didn’t. But Sr Patricia made me add the p.s.

28 responses

  1. Welcome back, Larry! I can tell your sabbatical his born good fruit! Looking forward, with high expectations, (no pressure) to more of your wit and wisdom… And, I hope, an occasional visit from Sr. Patricia, whom we love in all charity.

  2. Welcome back, Larry. I agree with everything you’ve said. My Catholic blogging list is down to just a very few. You and Terry always make the cut…

  3. I’m super bummed about no. 3. Does that mean no more Sr. Pat? Or secret SCHISM meetings? I suppose, as long as they’re in the realm of *fiction* (ahahahahahah), they’re in. I hope. ;) Oh, and your ‘locked/loaded for puppets’ sidebar- my kids would miss that immensely.

    • The ‘locked & loaded’ gif ain’t going away, rest assured!
      As to #3, Sr Patricia will continue to contribute. Rumor has it she’s planning a “Welcome Back” party for me at the convent this weekend.

  4. Pingback: Satire? Yes or No?

  5. I’m Catholic and I give myself a good chuckle! When I first started blogging I felt I always needed something to rail about or reach the masses with something really profound. I’ve recently decided not to force myself into this 7th layer of the bean dip kind of writing and be happy being the sour cream.

  6. I’d like to adopt your new happy-go-lucky attitude, because I observe that my recent focus on sins in the Church have damaged me; however; when there is such a great turning away from God I haven’t figured out how to justify that approach. Maybe you could address this more. I certainly need to find a healthier way.

  7. Good to see you back Larry.

    Er… A blogger who says “I keep my opinion to myself.” Isn’t that pretty much a contradiction in terms? or does it mean you’ll be publishing a lot of blank spaces?

  8. Welcome back, Larry. I certainly know what you mean about funny blogs that have lost their humor. I have stopped reading a couple because there was no longer any laughter. Now, I can understand that there are serious topics that need to be addressed from time to time, but if you write to share the joy of the faith through humor, and at some point find that there is nothing that you laugh about anymore, perhaps you need to take a break for your own spiritual sake.

    One more request- if you so desire, bring back some caption contests. Those were fun, too (and I even “won” one of them!).

    • Thanks for asking, Denise. I’ll be blogging about that later. Suffice it to say, I don’t have those charisms (or discernment of spirits, either, darn it!), but I’m joyful for those I have been blessed with, and am eager to put them into service. Just waiting for God’s nudge.

  9. Thanks Larry and welcome back! (I’m late in finding you online again.) Your reflections are really in tune with some of the things rumbling about in the back of my head! I’ll reactivate your bookmark and look forward to laughing with you:).

    -Sarah (long time lurker:)

Please please please validate me!

