Bishops: We Are Adopting Welborn Protocol On All Correspondence

(AoftheAP) In response to the Catholic blogosphere’s intense over-reaction to Bishop Olson’s (Diocese of Fort Worth) private letter to President Michael King of Fisher More College, in which the bishop reiterated that the Latin Mass offered at the college can no longer be offered, a group of bishops have decided to adopt what’s commonly referred to as “the Welborn protocol” on all private correspondence to individuals within their respective dioceses.

The Welborn protocol, attributed to long-time Catholic blogger Amy Welborn, states, in essence, that all “correspondence is blogable unless specifically indicated otherwise”.

“It’s sad we have to take this step,” one bishop told AoftheA News (who said that the conversation was indeed blogable), “but we’re realizing that bloggers are more apt to follow arbitrary internet etiquette and norms, rather than traditional standards of prudence, decorum, and civil behavior.”

Bishop Olson declined to be interviewed for this story, but a diocesan spokesman told AoftheA News that the bishop was on board with the new directive, stating “he makes this norm out of his pastoral solicitude and care for bloggers as well as for their own souls.”

11 responses

      • Well, yah. except my protocol or whatever, was geared in a positive direction. I was getting so much good input that I was asking people for advance permission to publish their interesting and enlightening stuff, not indict them. So I’m not enthused about the association. But whatever.

        • I understand – my goal was not to turn your well-intentioned thing into something it isn’t. It seemed a good fit against the rush-to-publish over-reaction that happened in this particular case, and was only used for humorous satirical effect.

          If you’re uncomfortable with what I’ve written, I will edit my post.

  1. Would somebody be kind enough to summarize this incident? What I have heard is that there are a number of factors and it can’t be chalked up to an anti-TLM motivation by the bishop. I say this as an avid TLM goer. Thanks.

Comments are closed.