Why Discussing Conscience With Catholycs Rarely Goes Well

Catholyc:  “According to my conscience, it’s okay to use birth control.”

Catholic: “As a pharmacist, it’s against my conscience to sell birth cont-“

Catholyc: “YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO FOLLOW YOUR CONSCIENCE!!!!”

 

Catholyc:  “According to my conscience, I disagree with the Church, and that women should be ordained.”

Catholic: “That’s interesting.  According to my conscience, I submit to the Church’s teaching that she doesn’t have the authority to ordain wom-“

Catholyc:  “INQUISITION!!  BIGOT!!!”

 

Catholyc:  “According to my conscience, I think gay marriage is a good thing.”

Catholic:  “Okay.  Well, according to my conscience, I agree with the Church, that marriage is between one man and one woman, and that…”

Catholyc:  “YOU WOULDN’T THINK THAT IF YOUR SON WAS GAY!!!!”

 

Catholyc:  “According to my conscience, celibacy is bad and I think priests should be married.”

Catholic:  “I see.  According to my conscience, in line with what the Church teaches, that celibacy is a good, and is currently a discipline and not a…”

Catholyc:  “SEX ABUSE CRISIS!!!!”

 

Catholyc:  “According to my conscience, I can have sex before marriage because I really love my boyfriend.”

Catholic:  “Well, according to my conscience, I agree with Church teaching, that sex is reserved for marriage, and…”

Catholyc:  “STOP JUDGING ME!!!!!”

 

Catholyc:  “According to my conscience, missing Mass isn’t a big deal, like if I’m too tired on Sunday morning.  God will understand.”

Catholic:  “I used to think that.  My conscience now tells me that Church teaching is correct, that Mass is an obligation, and to miss it for trivial reasons is…”

Catholyc:  “THAT MIGHT BE TRUE FOR YOU, BUT IT’S NOT TRUE FOR ME!!!”

 

Catholyc:  “According to my conscience, apologizing to God for my mistakes is just as good as confession.”

Catholic:  “Pretty interesting.  According to my conscience, I agree with the Church that Jesus wants us to confess our sins to a priest and receive grace from…”

Catholyc:  “SEX ABUSE CRISIS!!!!”

(thanks to Anonymuse for the last 3 examples)

15 responses

    • Yep.

      Sometimes SEX ABUSE CRISIS! is accompanied polyphonically with some griping that the Church has too much wealth tied up for the glory of God and should be sold off blah blah blah.

  1. It would be much funnier if it wasn’t so true. I just can’t get my head around why these sort of people don’t just up and leave the Church if they don’t like the rules. And if they’re of the mindset that they can’t possibly separate themselves from the Church, then it makes no sense at all they would question Her teachings. Odd.

    • Hi Lynne – thanks for asking.

      It’s not a term I originated (I can’t recall where I saw it first, so unfortunately I’m unable to assign proper credit), but it’s a descriptor of those in positions of influence within the greater Church – commentators, theologians, et al – who advocate from their positions changes to Church doctrine and teaching, primarily in areas of contraception, abortion, homosexual behavior, women priests, and encourage members of the laity to support such positions.

      It’s for differentiation purposes – they’re Catholic by virtue of their baptism, but they work towards greater disunity in the body of Christ, and thus by their actions & beliefs & advocacy, separate themselves to one degree or another from the greater body of Christ.

      Some people use terms like “Catholic-lite” or “false Catholics” or “catholic” (with the first “c” underlined) – I prefer Catholyc.

      They’re in need of our prayers (as is everyone!) to fully accept all of Church teaching, so that Christ’s prayer “that we all may be one” can be fulfilled.

      I hope that helps!

  2. Sad to see you’re still doing your catholyc schtick. It’s not that the content you speak of is necessarily wrong, it’s mostly not. It’s just that you continue to pigeon-hole people in a way that makes them in no way shape or form want to listen to you and change their ways. But then again, all of these Catholic blogs (including mine) are about preaching to the choir, pretty much. The idea that we’re evangelizing or helping anyone grow spiritually has been a dead proposition for quite some time now.

    • Sad to see you’re still doing your catholyc schtick.

      I schtick with what works.

      you continue to pigeon-hole people in a way that makes them in no way shape or form want to listen to you and change their ways.

      I’m under no illusion that that’s what I’m hoping to achieve.

      But then again, all of these Catholic blogs (including mine) are about preaching to the choir, pretty much.

      Talk about pigeon-holing…

      The idea that we’re evangelizing or helping anyone grow spiritually has been a dead proposition for quite some time now.

      I suppose that depends on what blogs and Catholic sites you’re frequenting.

  3. Pingback: My Three Favorite Stories from the Life of St Thomas Aquinas | Big Pulpit

  4. Pingback: Why Discussing Conscience With Catholycs Rarely Goes Well - Christian Forums

Comments are closed.