Disingenuous, To Say The Least

13_01_20_Sisters_for_obama-resized

‘Sisters for Obama’ ( Brendan Smialowski / AFP / Getty Images / January 13, 2013 ) A pin with a nun on it is seen at the official Presidential Inaugural Committee’s gift shop in Washington, D.C.

Even Sister Patricia isn’t fooled.

If they had used an image of the sort of woman religious who supports Teh One, it’d look more like an advert for Metamucil or Depends.  So I don’t blame them for the false advertising, from a marketing standpoint.  But it’s just another example of how this administration has to lie in order to be believed.

ht Fr Z

 

14 responses

  1. I’m really tired of this. Are the bishops going to take action so the public knows that these nuns (who-ever-they-are) do not represent the teachings of the Catholic Church? I mean……(Blank)….what will it take for the Church to condemn these nuns publicly?

  2. The teachings of the Roman Catholic Church very much include helping the poor and disenfranchised. If this were not so, why would Catholic Charities exist? If those Catholics who put selfish charity above other issues are no longer Catholics, what about those who put other issues above charity? Are they no longer Catholics either?

    • The problem is not putting charity over other issues, but rather denial of those other issues. You are right to bring up the multitude of charities that exist in the RCC to help the poor. And that’s just it: there are plenty of them that aren’t tools of Caesar and do their work without denying teachings binding on the conscience. These should be praised and given preference and the others gotten rid of like so much dead wood.

      • I think it is insurmountably naive to think that at any point in time all of our choices have no effect on other things in ways that we did not intend, and are being made with purely clean hands. I would like to meet the man who can say unwaveringly that every choice he has ever made has harmed no one else on Earth, and that it is only for the good.

        I am very sensitive to this argument because I found for the first time in my life that I could not with good conscience choose between either candidate, and was going to not vote. This upset me deeply. But as the race went on, and friends forced me to state anything “good” about the candidate they hated, issues did, for me, become clearer. For one thing, I am from New England, and remember painfully distinctly Governor Romney. I was so gobsmacked that he was chosen, that I had to ask my Republican friends, why did you choose a Democrat to run for president.

        So, ultimately, the choice became easier when in terms of painful issues such as abortion and same-sex marriage, the choice was a wash: neither candidate was offering (IN TRUTH) anything that I could endorse.

        However, like the nuns you guys take such pride in showing disrespect for, social justice did surface as a strong issue for me, as did the need to separate business from government, and the environment.

        So, for me, at least having something to vote for became more important than counting on my fingers what I wanted to vote against. Because in the end, it is more important to accomplish something, even in a compromised state, than to sit on the sidelines and do nothing. (As the Republican congress has proved so very clearly.)

        Oh, and as an aside, I was a real, true victim of attempted voter suppression. I counted at least four efforts to keep this county from voting Democratic, as it did during the last election. In the end, I was forced to walk miles in order to vote, and was relieved that all the overt cheating that was taking place in my state did not win the day. The people in line who insisted on staying in line until they voted won.

        • However, like the nuns you guys take such pride in showing disrespect for,

          Like I said there are plenty of sisters who do wonderful charitable work and champion social justice and don’t obscure or deny whole chunks of the Catholic faith.

          Because in the end, it is more important to accomplish something, even in a compromised state, than to sit on the sidelines and do nothing

          Not voting for someone who fully endorses intrinsic evils is not the same as doing nothing. It’s like voting for the director of Auschwitz because he pays the guards a living wage and has a comprehensive recycling program. There is no proportionate reason to vote for anyone (Republican or Democrat) who endorses abortion.

    • For like the millionth time…..the nuns (LCWR) are not….are not….are not being criticized for the social justice work but for their denial of Church doctrines on women priests, abortion, homosexual marrige, contraception etc. These nuns need to be removed from the Church because they are lost in their own pride and arrogance.

  3. I’m pretty sure no nun in a habit supported Obama. Which brings about a whole new situation….I wonder how the “nuns” who supported him feel about being depicted in habits. ; )

    • Stephanie, not to be difficult but who cares if they do or not. Almost none of the congregation of the LCWR were habits. The only habit they have is their dissent from Church teachings.

Comments are closed.