3½ Time-Outs Tuesday (Vol. 50)

Just like Conversion Diary’s 7 Quick Takes, but half as long and twice as good.

Hosted by Acts of the Apostasy

This Is The Spiritual Reading Edition

1

Over the years, I’ve accumulated and read quite a number of books that I have found helpful in developing and living a spiritual life. If I was better at applying them to my personal circumstances…well, that’s why the spiritual life is a journey, right? We know the destination, we know the path to get there – but diversions and distractions and temptations can take us into places we didn’t intend to visit. Fortunately, God’s grace is abundant and sufficient – and one source of that grace has been a good number of these books.

Holy Scripture notwithstanding (no brainer there!), here are three that I’ve found particularly helpful. There are so many more I could write about, but this is, after all, 3½ Time-Outs.

My Imitation of ChristThomas a Kempis

I bring this with me to my Holy Hour at the Adoration Chapel. If there’s one chapter that I rely on and reread often – and there are many! – it would have to be “The Royal Way Of The Holy Cross”, Ch 12, Bk II. Every line is packed.

“In the cross is salvation; in the cross is life; in the cross is protection from thy enemies.  In the cross is infusion of heavenly sweetness; in the cross is strength of mind; in the cross is joy of spirit.  In the cross is the height of virtue; in the cross is perfection of sanctity.  There is no health of soul nor hope of eternal life but in the cross.”

“If indeed, there had been anything better and more beneficial to man’s salvation than suffering, Christ certainly would have shown it by word and example.”

2

The Sinner’s Guide - Venerable Louis of Granada

He was, according to the book, “the favorite spiritual writer of St Teresa of Avila, St John of the Cross, St Francis de Sales, St Charles Borromeo, St Vincent de Paul, and St Rose of Lima”. Okay then! Works for me!

I bring this one to Holy Hour with me as well, and I have found it beneficial if I’m struggling with a particular vice, or need to work on a particular virtue. The book “strips away the glamour of sin, fortifying the soul for the resolute practice of the Christian virtues – those true riches which alone will accompany him beyond the grave”.

I am drawn most to Chapter 27: “Of those who allege that the Path of Virtue is too Difficult”.  It starts thus:

“As virtue is entirely conformable to reason, there is nothing in its own nature which renders it burdensome.  The difficulty, therefore, which is here objected arises not from virtue, but from the evil inclinations and appetites implanted in us by sin.”

And later:

“Are you not expected to do something for the salvation of your soul? Will you not do at least as much for this grand purpose, for eternity, as you do for your body and for time, which for you is rapidly passing away and will soon leave you at the tomb. What is a little suffering in this life, if you are spared everlasting torment?”

I have quite a bit of that chapter underlined and highlighted.  It’s challenging, but I need it.

3

The Four Last Things – Fr Martin von Cochem

Whenever I need to lift my spirits, I read the chapters on Heaven. Whenever I need a kick in the pants about staying on the straight and narrow, I go over the ones on Hell. It’s useful like that!

What have you found helpful? If I could add a couple more, I’d include



Now it’s your turn – write your own 3½ Time-outs Tuesday post, steal the pic at the top, and link back to this post by clicking on the Blue Frog, and follow the instructions. It’s the easy, painless and shorter version of 7 Quick Takes. You have a couple days to submit, but the sooner the better (link closes 2 PM EST on Thursday). Let’s keep the momentum going and reach the pinnacle of Catholic Internet Meme superiority!! Viva la Resistance!

And thanks to everyone who’s been participating!

And if you’re on Twitter, please tweet your 3.5 and use hashtag #3point5TO.

(Because of a formatting quirk with WordPress, the links don’t show up on this page. You have to click the Blue Frog to see who’s participated. But that’s not so hard, is it? So write up a post – I’m interested in what you have to say! I read every one.)

3 responses

  1. Thanks for this post! No. 2 “Are you not expected to do something for the salvation of your soul”? Reminded me especially of a favorite poem by GKC (last line):

    The Sword of Surprise

    Sunder me from my bones, O sword of God
    Till they stand stark and strange as do the trees;
    That I whose heart goes up with the soaring woods
    May marvel as much at these.

    Sunder me from my blood that in the dark
    I hear that red ancestral river run
    Like branching buried floods that find the sea
    But never see the sun.

    Give me miraculous eyes to see my eyes
    Those rolling mirrors made alive in me
    Terrible crystals more incredible
    Than all the things they see

    Sunder me from my soul, that I may see
    The sins like streaming wounds, the life’s brave beat
    Till I shall save myself as I would save
    A stranger in the street.

    Like

Comments are closed.