St. Augustine: “I Have Other Well-known Sayings, Too, You Know”

(AoftheAP)  Earlier today, St. Augustine made an unscheduled visit to the editorial offices of AoftheA, on this, his feast day, to air a complaint.

“Don’t get me wrong,” he said.  “I’m beyond joyful at being a saint, and having been declared a Doctor of the Church.  Deo Gratias and all that.  But really – I have other well-known sayings, too, you know.  Not just the “Our hearts were made for you, O Lord, and they are restless until they rest in you”, that you have published in your sidebar.

“Sure, I’m proud of that one, to a certain extent.  But you’d think that that’s the only important thing I’ve ever said!  How about ‘Oh Lord, give me chastity, but not just yet’?  Or maybe ‘He who created us without our help will not save us without our consent‘?  Here’s another good one: ‘God loves each of us as if there were only one of us‘?  Hardly anyone remembers that one.  I even wrote a few jokes, and no one remembers those either.”

The AoftheA editorial staff, when asked to comment, merely said that the Reflections From the Saints comes directly from the MyCatholic.com website, and since they published the quote, perhaps St Augustine should go pay them a visit as well.

“Oh, I assuredly will,” the saint responded, “Believe me, there are quotes literally dripping off every page of Confessions – yet that one gets picked.  It’s kinda disappointing.  I’m feeling pigeon-holed.”

When asked about his own favorite quote, he smiled. “That’s easy.  ‘Thanks, Mom.’”

8 responses

  1. A few other good ones:
    “It was pride that changed angels into devils; it is humility that makes men as angels.”
    “God had one son on earth without sin, but never one without suffering”
    “Miracles are not contrary to nature, but only contrary to what we know about nature.”
    “The punishment of every disordered mind is its own disorder.”

  2. Pingback: St. Augustine: “I Have Other Well-known Sayings, Too, You Know” « Acts Of The Apostasy « Head Noises

  3. The “restless” quote is from the Confessions not City of God. How about “Late have I loved you O Beauty ever ancient, ever new; late have I loved Thee.”

  4. Pingback: St. Augustine: “I Have Other Well-known Sayings, Too, You Know” | The American Catholic

Comments are closed.