3½ Time-Outs Tuesday (Vol. 20)

Just like Conversion Diary's 7 Quick Takes, except it's half as long and twice as good.

Hosted  by Acts of the Apostasy

This is the Power Outage Edition

 

1

Southeast Michigan was buffeted with high winds all Monday afternoon – 25-35 mph with gusts to 45 – and at 4:00 PM, our power went out. Within 15 minutes, Younger Son was panicking, as The Surrogate, the Internet, had been deactivated. 15 minutes!!! A new record!

Fortunately, as the Real Parent, I ably stepped right in, albeit with a bit more authority than The Surrogate. I made him do his homework. That’s right – I’m a total meanie. “But Dad!” he cried. “This is the apocalypse! The Zombie Apocalypse might start any minute!” “All the more reason to study,” I answered. “In case there’s a pop quiz.”

2

Elder Son was slightly more pragmatic. His Facebook status? “Electricity – whatever I said, I’m sorry. Please come back.”

3

When Mrs LarryD got home a little after 5 PM, the power was still out. The Sons had spent some time outdoors before she came home – nature! What a novelty! – and we decided to go out to dinner. The grille is currently on the Disabled List (busted igniter switch) and with the strong winds, I doubt the thing would have stayed lit anyhow. So we picked Crapplebee’s…I mean, Applebee’s, after several moments of running down the list of local eateries, excluding fast food.

Bad choice. It had been awhile since our previous dinner there, and everything was meh. Still. Except the French onion soup – that at least was hot. I think they’re main ingredient in every dish is MSG – Mrs LarryD reacts…negatively to MSG. I’ll leave it at that. It doesn’t play nice with my digestive system either…

When we got home from dinner, there was enough daylight to break out the Survival Pack of flashlights, candles and hand-crank battery-powered radio. I keep the liquor in the Adult Survival Pack. Doesn’t everyone?

Younger Son and I started a game of Battleship, which is interesting when you play it where the fleet gets to take evasive action during the course of the game. I should say that it was more interesting for Younger, because he was doing all the maneuvering. Every once in awhile, he’d whimper and whine something about the computer. I said summer camp with the Amish would do him some good. He scowled.

Then, just as I found his last ship, the lights flickered to life, and his face beamed brighter than a brand new Mag-lite. He was nearly halfway out of the room towards the computer when I ordered him back to the game – as the Real Parent, I still have a bit more pull than The Surrogate. He came back, declaring me the winner. I said, “Five more minutes? You can’t spend 5 more minutes with me?” Two moves later, I had sunk him. As we were pulling the pegs off the boards, I told him to go ahead, and I’d take care of putting away the game. He dashed off like a sailor running down a gangplank to see his girl after a wartime at sea.

I know – I’m a real softie.

So at 7:30 PM, the power outage was over. Electricity had accepted Elder Son’s apology.



Now it’s your turn – write your own 3½ Time-outs Tuesday post, steal the pic at the top, and link back to this post by clicking on the Blue Frog, and follow the instructions. It’s easy, painless and free. So join the Posse – especially you guys. This is the testosterone version of 7 Quick Takes. Your Man Card gets punched when you participate! Progress takes time, and revolutions aren’t born overnight. Let’s keep the momentum going and reach the pinnacle of Catholic Internet Meme superiority!! Viva la Posse!

(Because of a formatting quirk with WordPress, the links don’t show up on this page. You have to click the Blue Frog to see who’s participated. But that’s not so hard, is it? So write up a post – I’m interested in what you have to say!)

6 responses

  1. So, you’re bawling about the bad weather in Southern Michigan? My late mother,was from the Yoop, and their bad weather, especially dring the winter, makes your “bad weather” look like very good weather! So, man up, and stop moaning and groaning about yor “bad weather”1

  2. This is very insightful. It pretty much confirms for me the reasons I rarely ever see my neighbors – a husband, a wife, 2 boys – no one is ever outside, except to go to their cars. Once when their air went out, I noticed them all on their lap tops in their 3 season porch. I met them when they moved in about 18 years ago, and that was it. There’s more to that story – but at least I know what they do now.

    One more – I actually ran into the wife at the store once and said hello – she looked at me puzzled and I said “Jackie – it’s Terry!” She hadn’t recognized me.

  3. Prediction about younger son 25 t0 35 years from now.
    He will be telling his kids how rough he had it because the power was out for a few hours & he couldn’t be on line. Of course he will tell them through whatever the latest version of IM/text messaging/e-mail is rather than to their face.

  4. Pingback: 3 ½ Time-outs | Sago

Comments are closed.