3½ Time-Outs Tuesday (Vol. 17)

Just like Conversion Diary's 7 Quick-Takes, except it's half as long and twice as good.

Hosted by Acts of the Apostasy

1

Elder Son of LarryD got slapped with his first ‘moving violation infraction’ ticket the other week. He rushed through a late yellow light in the center of town, and got nabbed. The police officer, however, only wrote him up for impeding traffic – which means -0- points. Which means -0- increase on insurance, so we dodged a bullet there. Still means -100%- busted.

He let me know via text. It kinda went like this:

Elder: got pulled ovr 2day
Me: Where? What happened?
Elder: in village. i went thru ylw lite. cop said it was red
Me: You okay?
Elder: y
Elder: only wrote me 4 impeding traffic. no pts
Me: That was nice of him.
[significant pause]
Elder: how mad

At which point I had to laugh. Well-played, son, well-played.

Michigan has graduated licenses for new drivers, with restrictions at ages 16 and 17, and full privileges at age 18. Because of his ticket, his 1st tier restriction, which would be lifted when he turns 17, is now extended another 12 months from the time of the ticket.

And he has to reimburse me for the ticket.

2

As you can tell, I’m not hep on all the texting contractions and substitutions, and I use those quaint writing techniques known as punctuation, spelling and capitalization. Most of the time, at least. Like when I’m not driving…

j/k!

3

Now, for you parents who have yet to experience the thrill and excitement of a teenage driver, I think the following video provides a fairly close representation of how it feels sitting in the passenger seat:

Something big and dramatic occurs next week. It’s when my



Now it’s your turn – write your own 3½ Time-outs Tuesday post, steal the pic at the top, and link back to this post by clicking on the Blue Frog, and follow the instructions. It’s easy, painless and free. So join the Posse – especially you guys. This is the testosterone version of 7 Quick Takes. Your Man Card gets punched when you participate! Last week, there were nine submissions – including some newbies! – so we’re steadily making progress.  Let’s keep the momentum going!

Because of a formatting quirk with WordPress, the links don’t show up on this page. You have to click the Blue Frog to see who’s participated. But that’s not so hard, is it? So write up a post – I’m interested in what you have to say!

7 responses

  1. @#3
    My son is a long way from driving, but I can still relate to the video. I taught my Philippine-born wife how to drive when she came to the U.S.. I’ve also been a passenger in cars driven over there, so I may be one up.

  2. By texting standards, I send novels since I use complete sentences. And I have an old phone w/o a handy-dandy keyboard, so it takes more effort but I don’t care. I’m stubborn and I have a standard to keep up!

    Thankfully most of the texts I receive aren’t cryptic otherwise I’d have to ask them to send back a translation or a cipher because I’d have no idea what the hell they were trying to say! lol!

  3. I can’t get over the writing numbers for words thing. Or U and R used as words. Especially by grown-ups. I always think I’m hearing from a girl in junior high when I see that stuff.

  4. & of course LarryD has never gotten a ticket in his life (excluding parking meters)!
    Here in DBQ going through yellows & even as they turn red is SOP even for the police.
    Michigan’s new law sounds a bit like Iowa recent changes.
    What gets me is some of these are a throwback to the dark ages wehn I got my license in the 70s. Back then in Iowa we got a 1 year temporary permit & then the permanant licence. Then they got rid of it & now it is back.

  5. My oldest is driving. My next is about to get her permit. I spend a lot of time either leaning to the right or left when I’m not driving, to try and influnce the vehicle. I also suck in sometimes when we’re parking. It does not work, but I do it anyway. Also….Picaken! I made it. I am now a hero to my children. Thank you Larry D.

Comments are closed.