The Adopt-A-Priestess Project

I’m kicking off a project here at AoftheA, one your participation is humbly requested.

Last week’s story of Norma Jean Coon publicly renouncing her association with RCWP and attempt at ordination to the diaconate really moved me. It was a bright light of hope in a week of dark, despairing news. Perhaps it’s the initial sign that the womynpreest movement is beginning to crack. Thus, we should all help it along.

That’s why I’ve decided to launch the “Adopt-A-Priestess Project”, which is not all that dissimilar from “Adopt A Seminarian” initiatives some dioceses have, or the Spiritual Adoption of Unborn Human Life that had been encouraged by Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen.

Here’s how it will work: I have a list of the names of 75 women, taken directly from the website of Roman Catholic Women Priests. They are from the US, Canada and a few from Europe. The list will get longer, as I am sifting through a similar roster from the Women’s Ordination Conference site (I’m checking for duplication). If you wish to participate, I will assign you one of the names – or more, if you so desire, just let me know. I’m asking you to pray for that woman’s conversion and return in full communion to the Church. How you do that is entirely up to you. Masses, rosaries, Divine Mercy chaplets, adoration, fasting – whatever devotion or means that works for you. If you’re a priest, and you want to participate, perhaps you could say Masses for that woman (a few for the success of this project would be cool, too!)


If you are interested in joining, leave your name in the combox with the number of women you can commit to pray for. I’ll assign names in the comment box (you can make personal requests, too if you know one in particular – and please be patient if I don’t respond immediately to your request). If the entire list is exhausted – and wouldn’t that be great? – I’ll just cycle through a second time, until everyone who wants to participate has someone to pray for. It’s my hope that every woman will have at least one person praying for them. Given that I have 253 followers and 445 Google subscribers, I think chances are good. I’ve taken the first two names from the list – who wants the next?

Please – prayerfully consider taking part in this project. This movement can be defeated, one woman at a time. It won’t be won through argument or persuasion (least of all snarky blogposts), but only through the power of the Holy Spirit, invoked through prayer and sacrifice. Conversion doesn’t happen in a vacuum – as Catholics, we must stand in the gap and assault heaven with prayer. We might not see tangible results, but God answers every prayer in His way, in His time.

So -if you blog (which is not a prerequisite to participate, btw), or do the Facebook thing, please help out and swipe the “Adopt-A-Priestess Project” button for your site, whether you choose to participate or not, and link back to this post (You can modify the button’s HTML code so it automatically links to this post. If you don’t know how, ask and I’ll walk you through it). Please spread the word. This is one of the reasons why we belong to the Catholic blogosphere community – bloggers, readers, commenters, lurkers – to further the kingdom of God and to build up the body of Christ.

I know that most of the time I’m poking fun at these women’s misguided beliefs…okay, make that all the time. But this is serious business. You might think that the womynpreest movement isn’t the most pressing issue facing today’s Church. Well, that argument can take place some other time. Nevertheless, their movement does in fact wound the body of Christ, it makes a mockery of the holy priesthood, and it serves to undermine Church authority. It’s leading other souls astray, and thus, it must be stopped. And while it’s true we can pray in a general sort of way for the Holy Spirit to convert these women, I believe it’s more efficacious to pray for each individual specifically. Christ died to save each of us, not in groups or teams, but as individuals, uniquely created in the image and likeness of God. So when there’s an opportunity to pray for people by name, we ought to.

I’m placing this project under the intercessory protection of St Therese of Lisieux, St John Vianney and Venerable (soon to be Blessed) Pope John Paul II. And St. Michael the Archangel for good measure.

Thanks for your participation.

UPDATE 3/1 at 9:30 PM EST – at this point, 26 women have been adopted. What an awesome response! If you’ve requested a name, check back in the combox after a few hours – that’s where I’m posting the names.

UPDATE 3/2 at 9:00 AM EST
– we’ve crossed the half-way point! 38 women have been adopted now. Thanks!

UPDATE 3/2 11:00 PM EST
– up to 53 adoptees! Way to go everybody! More than two-thirds there!

UPDATE 3/3 2:00 PM EST – 58 women have been adopted to date. Also, Fr. Cory Sticha has some advice for those considering making contact:

I’m reluctant to advise anyone to contact the “priestesses” they’ve adopted before they’ve spent some time praying specifically for them. I would think that spending a week praying for them, asking the Holy Spirit to move in the prayer’s heart so that they can reach out to their adopted “priestesses” with the true charity of Christ. Once they have prayed for them (and fasted – remember what Our Lord said about prayer and fasting), then they can reach out to those they are praying for.

Now, this is just my advice, but knowing how easily Internet communication can be misunderstood, it’s probably best to allow the Holy Spirit some time to work in our lives before contacting them.

Thanks, Father.

UPDATE 3/4 9:00 AM EST – more than 90% of the members of the RCWP have been adopted – only 7 left. If you’ve been considering participating – now is the time. Oh, btw – 3 of these are men – which proves, I suppose, that the RCWP truly is inclusive…

UPDATE 3/4 9:00 PM EST – well, each person (I have to say that because some RCWP members are men) has an individual committed to praying for them! That’s right – 100% have been spiritually adopted – in fact, four now have two people praying for them. What a fantastic response! Deo gratias! That doesn’t mean you’re “late” if you want to participate. The more pray-ers the better! Let me know if you want a name – I’ll respond with one.

252 responses

  1. I would love to adopt a priestes. Can I request one by name? Theresa Novak Chabot is from my diocese and I think it would only be appropriate to pray for her.

  2. This is a blessed idea, and I'm in. And as soon as I can figure out where your e-mail address is, I'll e-mail you to ask for directions for how to link to this from my blog.

  3. Love the idea, will take 1 preferable of Italiano descent so I can ask the Holy Spirit to make her an offer she better not refuse. :)

  4. Larry: Sign me up, bro! Some of these ladies live in MN but I'll ask for the random draw.

    I'd offer to walk a labyrinth in their honor but you know I'd get lost so I'll stick with the tried and true prayers.

  5. OK, so I'm socially awkward and I'm looking for advice … some of these ladies give contact information … would it be helpful to contact my gal and let her know I'm praying for her … or would that be rude? Please give me guidance. Thanks.

  6. OK, so I'm socially awkward and I'm looking for advice … some of these ladies give contact information … would it be helpful to contact my gal and let her know I'm praying for her … or would that be rude? Please give me guidance. Thanks.

    That's entirely up to you. There's a chance the woman could get indignant, so you have that to consider. If you do contact her, I would send her a link to this post in your email – she would be curious as to how you got her name, perhaps. Or by reading the post, it might give her pause to think, just a bit, which would allow the Holy Spirit a small opening. You never know. All in all, contacting your spiritually adopted person isn't necessary, and it's up to you.

    Maybe a priest or someone with more sense about this issue who reads this answer can shed some light.

  7. OK, so I'm socially awkward and I'm looking for advice … some of these ladies give contact information … would it be helpful to contact my gal and let her know I'm praying for her … or would that be rude? Please give me guidance. Thanks.

    I sent an email to my priestess with a link to my blog post about the project. I believe she is entitled to know what's going on. Besides, knowing that she might read what I post about this will help me avoid the temptation of being “snarky” with what I write.
    She did not answer my email and there's no indication from google analytics that she went to my blog.
    Be that as it may….I think letting the individual know about this is a good thing.

  8. Larry,

    I'm reluctant to advise anyone to contact the “priestesses” they've adopted before they've spent some time praying specifically for them. I would think that spending a week praying for them, asking the Holy Spirit to move in the prayer's heart so that they can reach out to their adopted “priestesses” with the true charity of Christ. Once they have prayed for them (and fasted – remember what Our Lord said about prayer and fasting), then they can reach out to those they are praying for.

    Now, this is just my advice, but knowing how easily Internet communication can be misunderstood, it's probably best to allow the Holy Spirit some time to work in our lives before contacting them.

  9. Actually, could I have one of the ones in Drexel Hill, PA? I didn't even realize this community existed so close to where I live!

  10. Jess, here are two for you and your husband – Monique Venne and Patricia LaRosa You guys duke it out over who gets whom. ;-)

    As to the Drexel Hill “priestesses” – they've already been adopted, but if you want to include them in your prayers as well – go for it! My goal is to get all the women adopted before doubling up. The two I know of from Drexel Hill are Caryl Johnson and Eileen DiFranco.

  11. Thank you Fr. Cory, that is exactly the kind of guidance I needed. I will pray and fast for awhile and make the guidance on whether to communicate part of my request.
    S. Awkward

  12. Larry,

    I'll take one from anywhere. I hesitated because I'm not great at following through on some commitments, but I figure any prayers I remember for her are better than none. Plus, who knows, maybe this will kick me into gear spiritually. I want everyone on your list to have one person praying for her.

    Finally, have you assigned Fr. Roy to anyone? ;)

  13. I can pray for seven…because I'm also assigning the intercession of the seven women martyrs listed in the Roman Canon (Felicity, Perpetua, Agatha, Lucy, Agnes, Cecilia, Anastasia)

  14. Michael – Judith McKloskey and go ahead and include Fr Roy if you want – that's a great idea!

    Jenny – Kim Sylvester

    Burmy – wow! Seven – that's wonderful. We're getting close to the end of the list, and some of the ones I'm giving you have decided to remain anonymous, and are identified by region. So, here are your seven: Ann Penick; Mary Ellen Sheehan; Catacomb Priest 1 – East; Confidential Priest 1 – Midwest; Confidential Priest 2 – Midwest; Confidential Priest 2 – West; and Catacomb Deacon 1 – East.

  15. I would like to pray for one by name, and with each prayer for her I will also ask for the conversion of all women in this situation.

  16. Wow! I forgot to check your blog for a week and missed some important stuff! Mea culpa!
    I'd love to pray for one of these women.
    Thank you!

  17. Go any New England area priestess that need prayers? As long as they are not Yankees fans (kidding). This is one of my Lenten efforts, hopefully to continue. God bless you for thinking of this.

  18. I'm already praying for different abortion 'doctors' every week, Larry… why not a liturgical 'doctor', too? {Get it? They're 'doctoring' the liturgy? Only not in a good way, much like the abortionists.}

    Give me a name!

  19. Just linked to your blog via Mac's (Mulier Fortis). Would like to pray for one priestess: I will ask St. Paul (who had a radical conversion himself) to add his prayers to mine (I'm a 2004 convert from the Episcopal church.) Do you list any near Cincinnati, Ohio?

  20. Hey Larry, sorry to be late – I've been sick.

    Me and the Homebrews will take one for Lent. That's a 4-on-1 ratio — gotta be good odds!

  21. Larry,

    Just found this. I would love to have a woman to pray for during lent. Is it too late?

    Teresa-1962

  22. Supersize us. We'll take two- no fries.

    Seriously, what a great idea. This is probably the best way to put yourself out of a blog.

  23. So let me get this straight, this is to pray for a woman who is wanting to become a priest in hopes she'll come to her senses and not want to be a priest any longer? Am I right?

  24. sysy – basically, yes. An overwhelming majority of the women on the list I have believe they're properly ordained priests, but in reality are not. So they need prayers in order to come to their senses, in a spiritual way, and repent of their error.

    Hope that helps!

  25. Thanks so much, Larry. What an interesting paring! My lady is a teacher-I have been a teacher. And she's a playwright and director-I'm a playwright and actress. I am a convert and I will pray for her conversion.

  26. I remeber during lent as kids we had milk cartons we saved money in for some little poor kid in china or africa and our class in effect would adopt a child in one of those countries being cared for by some missionary. With lent now underway, I think we should work to fund missionaries for these lost souls and maybe the assigned missionary could send along a little pictures of the priestess we are funding with some info on how things are going.

  27. I'm Brazilian priest and I will pray. Send me the name. Sorry, I'm learning English language. I will offer the Mass, Rosary en Via Crucis.

  28. Peace be with you. This is a good idea but I fear this type of conversion can only happen through prayer AND fasting . Seeing it is lent I wish I could commit to this but I am an awful sinner myself and I wish someone would do this for me . Pray for me that is, but it's a great cause .

  29. I guess I should pray about it first and be ready to fast and pray the rosary . could I do that with the intention of a conversion of some *cough cough* priest..ess?

  30. Is it too late to adopt a priestess? I'd like to adopt one of those religious “sisters” who have delusions of grandeur; you know, one of those pantsuit-wearing-earringed ladies who call themselves “nuns”, but really want to be priest(ess)s.

  31. Thanks for sharing about the “women priests”. I will adopt the group of wannabees from France, my country. One good thing about it is that we can make a list of all the Ministries and Retreats we want to avoid. (most of these women are spiritual directors or healing ministry leaders of some sort).

  32. Beatrice – the list I have has one name that sounds French to me – Genevieve Beney. Thanks for participating – and may God bless you!

  33. Since it seems the world will carry on a bit longer, I'll sign up to adopt a priestess. We will remember her in our family rosary and pray for her return to the fullness of Catholic faith.

  34. SDG – you and your family have Toni Tortorilla

    btw – I'd honored that you've found my blog. I hope you like it enough to become a regular reader. I refer to your reviews frequently, and have found them insightful and helpful. God bless you and your family!

  35. Thanks, LarryD! Toni Tortorilla, be assured of our prayers.

    And LarryD, I'm gratified by your appreciation of my work. Although I can't help noticing you left me off your post on bearded Catholic apologists. What's the mustachioed Dr. Ray got that my bearded self hasn't got? Dude's a family psychologist, or somesuch. Not that there's anything wrong with that. I know I'm a film critic, but I've done a lot of apologetics too. And I have the beard!

  36. I would love to pray & fast for someone by name! I too regret not offering enough acts of charity toward those who inflict division on the Body of Christ.

    If there is anyone from the Diocese of Bridgeport, or anywhere in New England, please assign her (or him!) to me =)

    Yours in Christ,

    Chris

  37. Tally 2 more to the list, LD (Marellen Mayers & Patti LaRosa). There are 2 additional womyn priests (making a total of 4), but their names weren't mentioned in the article. You can give one or both to me . . . just don't blame me if they're “ordained” bishops before the end of the year. ;)

    PS They all look so happy. I could just cry, but not on account of their happiness. :(

  38. Shame on you all for making fun of a persons vocation to God!

    I didn't know being called by God into ministry REQUIRED A PENIS!

  39. Tom E. – the other two women are Ann Penick and Caryl Johnson. They, as well as Patti LaRosa were 'womendeacons' according to the RCWP site, and thus have a couple people praying for them already.

    Marellen Mayers, however, was not on the list, so you can include her in your prayers.

    Thanks for the heads-up on the article.

  40. Les E – sorry you feel that way, but these people are not living according to God's will, regardless of how sincere they believe they are. They're living in opposition to Church teaching and contrary to the will of God.

    Speaking for myself, I intend to pray every day for the two women I've adopted until the day I die.

  41. Sign me up for one! :)

    And thanks for starting this. It's an issue very close to my heart since my reversion to the faith five years ago.

    Amanda

  42. I too will pray for my ladies always. I have come to feel deep affection for Bridget and Joan from praying for them daily, and I have faith they will wake up one day and return to the true fold.

  43. I will take FOUR, please. I will personally pray for all four of them, but three will also be the special projects of my three homeschooled children; a practical exercise in a Spiritual Work of Mercy. Thank you in advance.

  44. Please assign me the name of one woman to pray for. If you know of one from the Quad City area (Iowa/ Illinois) that would be great, but I'll take any one who needs prayers.

  45. I would like to adopt a “priestess”. I can read German, just in case there are more like Ms. Mayr-Lumetzberger. Awesome blog, by the way, and it’s great to have you on wordpress!

  46. I just came across this blog today and must admit I am quite appalled at what I have read here.Who gave any of you the right to decide that these women where not called to their vocations as priests by the holy spirit ?I presume those who refer so sneeringly to these women as priestesses or wymen do so to try to belittle them.I will pray for these priests that the holy spirit will give them the strength and courage to withstand the jeers and mockery they have to put up with in honouring gods call to their vocation.

    • Who gave any of you the right to decide that these women where not called to their vocations as priests by the holy spirit ?

      You’re mistaken, Jackie. We haven’t decided anything, except to faithfully follow Church doctrine. Women cannot become priests, and the Holy Spirit does not call them to become priests. That has been Church teaching since the beginning, following Christ’s example in the Gospel.

      I presume those who refer so sneeringly to these women as priestesses or wymen do so to try to belittle them.

      No – we belittle their mockery of the sacrament of Holy Orders and defiance and disobedience to the Church. What they are attempting to do is wrong, and harms the Body of Christ.

      I will pray for these priests that the holy spirit will give them the strength and courage to withstand the jeers and mockery they have to put up with in honouring gods call to their vocation.

      They aren’t priests.They’re merely fooling themselves, and a good number of their followers as well. While we pray for them to come to their senses and return to full union in the Church, you’ll be praying for their continued acts of disobedience. Which prayer do you think the Holy Spirit is more apt to answer?

      Thank you your comment – but support of these women pretending to be priests is misplaced and only serves to further wound the Body of Christ. That isn’t my opinion – that’s the truth as proposed by the Church.

  47. I know I’m pretty late in the game, but I’d like to adopt a priestess too:) Are there any who might need a second person praying for them?

  48. You’ll have to add this woman to your list of people who need to be prayed for:
    Former Catholic nun Judy Beaumont will be ordained January 21, 2012 in Fort Myers FL.

  49. Pingback: Taking The Wrong Sort Of Risk « Acts Of The Apostasy

  50. Pingback: 3½ Time-Outs Tuesday (Vol. 7) « Acts Of The Apostasy

  51. Hey Larry!
    I was wondering if you could give me a bishop/priest/deacon(ess) from the South…I saw you say there are none from Texas and huic ago Deo gratias! (just a little Latin for you :D)

    By the way…I noticed that most of those “ordained” with “apostolic succession” (and i noticed a hole in that argument) are…quite aged…which is probably no coincidence!

  52. So I am a year late, but add me in if you wish! I will also make this comment–you spoke of how this “wounds” the body of Christ–if I had read it a year or two ago I confess I might have failed to understand why, but watching what is happening with our sisters and nuns in general here in the USA and the amazingly negative response to the Vatican and bishops, to say nothing of a secular President surrounding himself with liberal Catholic females who are all thrusting his agenda like the spear into the side of Jesus, and I am seeing it…sadly. One step leads to the next. We could probably add to the “adoption” those who need re-conversion such as Pelosi and Sister Carol Sheehan, Sebelius and any others drunk with the power they now think they have to control the Church. It is actually frightening. And yet, as you and so many have said in this post, it is a spiritual battle truly. God bless you in this effort. May we all make some small difference. And together a big one.

  53. Awesome project! Apparently, it’s still going on, though it’s quite an old post, so I’d be honored to pray for one of these ladies. Thank you!

  54. G’Day from Australia. Don’t know if there’s any from here that are on your list. But as I’ve just purchased the book “Church Militant Field Manual” and am praying for Poor Souls in Purgatory and Lost Souls to return to the Church, I’d like to add a priestess to my prayers.

  55. Well Larry, did it work ? How many heretics were saved ? It surprised me to see that Pope ‘joan chittister’ & her coven of benedictines-in-name-only from Erie, Pa. were not included. No wonder they are still frothing out heresies.

    • I don’t understand the point of your questions. Do you really think I know who’s saved or not? Do you really think that the point of this project was so that I could take any credit for “saving” anyone?

      Do you want someone to pray for or not? If not, then please refrain from venting your spleen across my blog. That’s not what my blog is for. Thanks.

  56. God bless you for this project… I would like one of their “bishops” please. This needs to be prayed out at the source and I have at least one rosary a day armed and ready for this lucky lady… For starters…

  57. Good grief, Larry, do you know how long it took to scroll to the bottom on my ipad? Glad to see people are so motivated to pray for these women. And one for me, as well!

    Thank you for organizing this; God will surely reward you for being your brother’s keeper. :)

  58. If it’s still possible, I’d love to adopt a “priestess”. I’ll have a TLM Mass offered for her once I know her name… ;)

Comments are closed.